Quality Standards

All childcare settings and providers are offered  the opportunity to review all aspects of the childcare they offer and improve quality standards by using appropriate Environmental Rating Scales.

Your Childcare Development Officers can:

  • Support new and existing childcare providers to undertake a self assessment process in meeting quality standards
  • Support settings in providing developmentally appropriate experiential play opportunities
  • Work with settings to identify areas for development and put in place joint action plans
  • Provide help and support to settings to help them meet any actions required to achieve the highest standard they are able to.


Environmental Rating Scales include;

ECERS – Rating scale for 2-5 year olds

ITERS – Rating scale for infants and todders

SACERS – Rating scale for school aged children

FCCERS – Rating scale for family childcare environment

For more information contact your Childcare Development Officer.